Platinum Jubilee: Morgan Motor Company in 1952

Platinum Jubilee: Morgan Motor Company in 1952

As people around the country – and the world – come together to congratulate Queen Elizabeth II on her Platinum Jubilee, we’ve taken the opportunity to delve into our archives and provide a snapshot of how the Morgan Motor Company looked in 1952, the year that The Queen came to the throne.

By 1952, the Morgan Motor Company was already fast approaching half a century in business. H.F.S. Morgan was Chairman and remained at the helm of the company he had founded some 43 years earlier. He was now joined by his son, Peter, who was also on the board of directors working alongside Managing Director, George Goodall.

Plus 4 Drop Head Coupé, 1952

The Factory

We are of course still operating from the same factory site in 2022 that we were in 1952. In fact, Morgan production at Pickersleigh Road began in 1914, just five years after the first Runabout was built.

By 1952, ‘The Works’ had been extended from two workshops (also known as rows) to seven and now included the Wood Mill, Machine Shop, Paint Shop and Sheet Metal Shop. Whilst many of these workshops have changed location on today’s site, the iconic red brick buildings remain and help to give Pickersleigh Road its historical identity.

Whilst no exact employee records remain from the early 1950s, it is expected that around 100 employees formed the workforce, with the majority of these being in production roles supported by administrators and management.

Chassis records show that 238 Plus 4 were despatched during 1952. 

The 1952 brochure showing the three Plus 4 model variants available

The Model Range

1952 represented the last year of original Morgan three-wheeler production. As such, just 16 F-types were built. Priced at £270 for the F-4 and £285 for the F-Super, these models would be the last of the line until the Morgan 3 Wheeler was reborn in 2011.

The mainstay of production was Plus 4, powered by the Standard Vanguard engine. Three model variants of Plus 4 were offered, these were the Plus 4 Tourer – in two-seater and four-seater variants – and Plus 4 Drop Head Coupé.

The range brochure at the time stated that there were four paint choices available, these were Black, British Racing Green, Nile Blue or Carnation Red. The standard upholstery was Black, and customers were politely advised that “Any deviation from the above will entail an extra charge of £5 for Paint Work and £5 for Upholstery.”

The 1952 brochure featured a detailed specification of the Plus 4


Throughout its 113 years in business, Morgan has been closely linked to motorsport and competition in various forms. It was therefore no surprise that a “Works” team won the 1952 R.A.C. International Rally, which raced from Hastings to Scarborough and featured a number of other prominent marques.

1952 R.A.C. International Rally 'Works' Team

Further images and material from the 1952 brochure and the Morgan archives are shown below.

Discover more about Morgan’s history, as well as its present and future, during a factory tour and a delve into the company archives in The Archive Room, Morgan’s new interactive museum.

share with others


More to explore

orlebar brown model driving super 3 on a beach
Morgan and Orlebar Brown create the ultimate holiday ready Super 3
Morgan and Orlebar Brown create the ultimate holiday ready Super 3
Read More
Sennheiser speaker
Plus Four and Plus six sports cars
Introducing the new Plus Four & Plus Six
In line with its philosophy of continual evolution, Morgan Motor Company is reimagining its Plus Four...
Read More