In 1947 the Standard Motor Co announced their ‘One Engine Policy’ which meant that after 1949 the 1267 c.c. unit would not be available to Morgan. A prototype for a new Morgan was therefore built in 1949 with the Standard Vanguard 1.8 litre engine which gave a much increased performance. 1950 saw the production of this car as the Plus Four. The engine eventually fitted was the 2088 c.c. Vanguard 68 b.h.p. unit. The Plus Four had immediate success in competition, with Morgans winning the team award in the R.A.C. Rally in 1951 and 1952. H.F.S.’s son Peter Morgan was a driver in both teams. The body styles adopted were an open two-seater, a four-seater and a Drophead Coupe. Due to its very high-power-to-weight-ratio the Plus Four also began to have many successes on the track. In 1954 the pre-war design was significantly updated with the radiator now hidden beneath a cowl and grille to improve aerodynamics, and the following year the TR 2 engine was fitted, raising the power to 90 b.h.p. Although detailed modifications have been made over the years, and many other engines fitted, this iconic design remains in production.