The Morgan sports Car championships

The Plus Four was reintroduced in 1985 with a Fiat engine which was replaced two years later by Rover’s award winning lean burn overhead cam 2 litre engine. Also that year, Charles Morgan, grandson of the founder, joined the company full time. Bruce Stapleton, the London Morgan agent gallantly tried to put the Morgan back amongst the winners in International Sports Car Racing competing with Porsche and Lancia entries in Group 4 and drove an early Plus Eight 12,000 mile to Australia in the London Sydney Marathon setting the fastest time on a number of stages. In the Pirelli Marathon Rick Bourne came second overall in a Morgan Plus Four Supersports and echoed the successes of the Plus Four in the International rallies of the 1950’s.

The Morgan Sports Car Championships began in 1987 as an annual championship designed to give owners the chance to race their cars in a one-make series. The championship grew fast and grids of 309 cars became common. The success of the series prompted a Hill-Climb Championship exclusively for Morgans and encouraged the German Morgan Owners Club to start a race series in Europe called the Continental Morgan Championship. From 1987 to 1993 the Plus Eight of Graham Bryant and Matthew Wurr consistently demonstrated how fast a Morgan can go against other makes in the 750 Motor Clubs Roadsports Series and in Morgan marque racing.

Throughout the 1980s and 1990s the Morgan Motor Company continued building the classic range of sports cars, the 4/4 being the entry level model, the Plus 4 for those who required a little more performance, and the very quick Plus 8 being top of the range. In 1997 the production models were extensively overhauled, with the standardisation of the new Aluminium superform wings (all except the 4/4), longer doors, redesigned facia to allow for airbags the introduction of a 4.6 litre V8 version and generally improved materials throughout.